Mataas na Paaralang Neptali A. Gonzales (MPNAG) located on Nueve de Febrero St., Barangay Mauway City of Mandaluyong was established through the joint effort of the late Senate President Neptali A. Gonzales, Congressman Neptali M. Gonzales II and then Mandaluyong City Mayor Benjamin S. Abalos Sr. The initiative originated from their desire to provide accessible secondary education to the residents of Highway Hills, Malamig, Mauway. Addition Hills, Pleasant Hills and Barangka Drive. It also aimed to decongest Mandaluyong High School, the lone public secondary school in Mandaluyong. However, the school went through a long process before gaining its independence and getting its name which it uses up to this day.

MPNAG, originally named Mandaluyong High School (Mauway Annex) was inaugurated on February 6, 1997.The grand ceremonies were attended by distinguished personalities led by the founder, Senate Pres. Gonzales together with Congressman Boyet Gonzales, Mayor Abalos and the city and DepEd officials.

On March 30, 1999, the school held its first commencement exercises with 465 graduates. It was made memorable when the rain shower soaked the three top leaders of Mandaluyong: the late Senate President Gonzales, Cong. Boyet Gonzales and Mayor Benjamin C. Abalos Jr.

On April 15, 1999, through City Ordinance No. 205 s-1999, the school was renamed Mandaluyong City East High School.

On July 26, 1999, under Republic Act No. 8769, the school was converted into a separate high school from Mandaluyong High School and was given the name Mandaluyong East High School.

On September 16, 2001, the school mourned the loss of its founder, Senate Pres. Gonzales. His big contribution especially in the field of education was recognized by the people. Thus, on January 30, 2002, the Mandaluyong City Council through Resolution No. 835, s. 2002 honored the school’s founder by renaming it Mataas na Paaralang Neptali A. Gonzales (MPNAG).

The school started serving only two year levels on its first year with only 36 faculty members. From the 10 sections in first year and 8 sections in second year, MPNAG now has 20 sections per grade level in Junior High School (JHS) and offers Academic, Technical, Vocational and Livelihood (TVL) and Arts and Design Track in Senior High School (SHS). Also, starting SY 2020-2021, MPNAG opens its door to Humanities and Social Sciences (HUMSS), a strand of the Academic Track. To date it has graduated 17 batches in JHS and three in SHS.

Currently, the school is headed by Dr. Efren S. Consemino. He succeeded Dr. Victor M. Javeña, the Officer In-charge (OIC) in 2017.

The school was originally headed by Mr. Manuel Y. Dingcong with Dr. Evangelina A. Diaz as Head Teacher in Charge. Eventually, she became the school principal until 2004. Her successors were Dr. Evelina P. Barandoc who served the school from July 2004 to July, 2010 and Dr. Ervin A. Salazar who headed MPNAG from 2010 to 2016.

Senior High School is currently headed by its Assistant School Principal Mr. Rhyan O. Medina. He succeeded Mr. Pompio B. Floro Jr.

Starting with just one but very impressive Gonzales Building in 1997, the school now has buildings for Special Program in the Arts (SPA), SHS, Practical Arts and the four newly-inaugurated buildings. These were made possible through the initiative of Cong. Gonzales and his wife former Congw. Queenie, and former Mayor Benhur C. Abalos.

These buildings house impressive science and food laboratories, Music and Dance Rooms and ICT facilities. The school also provides a venue for sports development through its gymnasium and quadrangle.

Through the K to 12 program and inclusive education, the school now offers regular junior high school, STE, SPA, ALS, OHS and the SHS.

From the pillars of MPNAG also came the first winner from Mandaluyong public secondary schools in an international mathematics quiz bee. In fact, Kirk Bamba not only won in Singapore, he was sent to India for another competition and brought home the bacon.

Twenty-two years after its foundation, the school now takes pride in having produced lawyers. CPAs, engineers, businessmen, nurses, teachers and other professionals.



To protect and promote the right of every Filipino to quality, equitable, culture-based, and complete basic education where:

Students learn in a child-friendly, gender-sensitive, safe, and motivating environment.

Teachers facilitate learning and constantly nurture every learner.

Administrators and staff, as stewards of the institution, ensure an enabling and supportive environment for effective learning to happen.

Family, community, and other stakeholders are actively engaged and share responsibility for developing life-long learners.

We dream of Filipinos

who passionately love their country

and whose values and competencies

enable them to realize their full potential

and contribute meaningfully to building the nation.

As a learner-centered public institution,

the Department of Education

continuously improves itself

to better serve its stakeholders.






DepEd Mandate

The Department of Education was established through the Education Decree of 1863 as the Superior Commission of Primary Instruction under a Chairman. The Education agency underwent many reorganization efforts in the 20th century in order to better define its purpose vis a vis the changing administrations and charters. The present day Department of Education was eventually mandated through Republic Act 9155, otherwise known as the Governance of Basic Education act of 2001 which establishes the mandate of this agency.

The Department of Education (DepEd) formulates, implements, and coordinates policies, plans, programs and projects in the areas of formal and non-formal basic education. It supervises all elementary and secondary education institutions, including alternative learning systems, both public and private; and provides for the establishment and maintenance of a complete, adequate, and integrated system of basic education relevant to the goals of national development.


mpnag avp.mp4